¡Feliz Navidad y próspero Año Nuevo! - Reisverslag uit Castellón de la Plana, Spanje van Ellen Wermink - WaarBenJij.nu ¡Feliz Navidad y próspero Año Nuevo! - Reisverslag uit Castellón de la Plana, Spanje van Ellen Wermink - WaarBenJij.nu

¡Feliz Navidad y próspero Año Nuevo!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ellen

22 December 2015 | Spanje, Castellón de la Plana

¡Hola a todos y todas!

My tentative last night in Castellón, this time tomorrow I will be home for the holidays! I’m very excited and I look forward to seeing everyone again. In January I will return to Spain for the final exams, and at the end of January my study abroad will already come to an end…

Last month was very busy, I had a lot of deadlines and, in addition, I already had my first exam for the Spanish language course. And guess what: I passed with 95/100%! I really couldn’t believe it, but I’m so happy, and very proud as well! After receiving the certificate last Friday, we had to go to the ‘Rectorat’ to add the credits to our Transcript of Records.. and of course it was closed at 14:45. So, yesterday we tried it again.. but it still wasn’t possible, because the woman behind the desk wasn’t ‘allowed’ to do it (uhm, this is your job right? Fixing students’ problems?). Therefore, this morning we first went to the ORI, the office for international students, and yes: they sent us back to the ‘Rectorat’.. After discussing, filling in a form and stuff, the credits are finally added to our Transcript of Records. I think I will never get used to the way things work in Spain! Luckily, tomorrow I will be amongst ‘normal’ people, hahaha.

The last couple of weeks, I had a lot of presentations. I think they really like presenting here, because for every subject I have presented at least once! Moreover, for almost every subject I had to work in groups and we had to create a communication plan or a report about a company. For Inglés para la Empresa, I had to write an academic essay and of course I had to present it. Actually, this was quite interesting, because I chose the topic ‘Culture and marketing: the importance of language’. Although it was a lot of work and a bit stressful, it wasn’t that bad because I really liked the topic. Meanwhile I already finished one subject, Marketing Social y Político, however I haven’t got a grade yet. And of course the language course, but I already told you about that :) After the holidays I have to present another project and I have 3 exams. I will do the best I can and then we shall see what happens.

The 5th of December, I celebrated Pakjesavond with the Dutchies (and one Korean guy) in Castellón. First, we started with a really good Korean dinner. Sinterklaas even wrote a poem for us and afterwards we started with the presents, with a dice game. It was a great night, which we have completed in Club Mambo. Meanwhile, I have been to the Erasmus Band Night several times, a nice evening in an extraordinary pub with live music for and by Erasmus students. 1,5 weeks ago there was such a nice house party, organized by Erasmus students in their apartment near the beach. It was organized because this was the last party together before the exams, a lot of people already returned home for Christmas last weekend. I think this was one of the craziest nights ever, including the American red cups, beer pong, and so on. Due to the (possible) noise disturbance, we returned to the city center to continue the party over there! This party was exactly what I imagined when you say Erasmus! It was an excellent provisional farewell party :)

Christmas is coming in Castellón as well! Christmas trees and flickering lights appear little by little. I live near a shopping center, similar to ‘de Bijenkorf’ in the Netherlands, there is even a little Christmas market (only with chocolate though) and there is beautiful lighting on the building (see photo).

That's it my story so far. I would like to wish you all a merry Christmas and a happy and healthy New Year!

Lots of love from Spain and I will probably see you soon!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ellen

Hola a todos y todas! I'm Ellen, a twenty-year-old student from the Netherlands. The coming months, I'll be a student at Universitat Jaume I in Castellón de la Plana. This Erasmus program is part of my study 'International Business and Languages' at the Hanze University in Groningen. Through this blog I'll keep you posted about my stay here! Because this blog is part of a school assignment, I will also talk about useful things for incoming Erasmus students, such as housing, curriculum, living expenses, cultural differences and so on. Enjoy! :)

Actief sinds 16 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 240
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3531

Voorgaande reizen:

09 September 2015 - 29 Januari 2016

Castellón de la Plana, the place to be!

Landen bezocht: