Another month has flown by - Reisverslag uit Castellón de la Plana, Spanje van Ellen Wermink - WaarBenJij.nu Another month has flown by - Reisverslag uit Castellón de la Plana, Spanje van Ellen Wermink - WaarBenJij.nu

Another month has flown by

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ellen

30 Oktober 2015 | Spanje, Castellón de la Plana

Hi everyone!

Another month has flown by and we're almost into November! Unbelievable, time flies when you're having fun, that's for sure.

Another month with new experiences, meeting new people and most important: the language course (which was definitely necessary, haha). Three times a week I have the Spanish course, with a lot of other Erasmus students. And really, I feel like a dork when I'm in class. The Spanish language is so difficult and strange. After I made the exam that determines your level, I was assigned to B1, which represents the intermediate independent speakers. In my opinion: not bad at all! Luckily, we started with the basics, which is very helpful for me bearing in mind that I've skipped the first year of Spanish class in Groningen. Last week, I had my first exam and the teacher commented: ¡Muy bien!, so I think my Spanish will finally improve! However, I still don't speak Spanish in class/daily life, time will tell.

Regards the rest of the classes: I'm totally integrated. Although, Spanish classes still are very difficult, because the people speak very fast. In this respect, working in groups is extremely nice, fellow group members (Spanish, of course...) can explain the exercise again, if necessary and I can translate it on Google. I love the Internet! The English classes are easy to follow and sometimes even a bit boring, because the Spanish people aren't very good at English. Maybe they finally understand how I feel during Spanish classes, hahaha!

Two weeks ago, my grandmother, Monique, Lotte, Anoek and Marieke were visiting me in Castellón. We really enjoyed our week together and luckily the weather still wasn't bad. We even went to the beach a few times! It was extremely nice to see and hug them again.

In Spain people celebrate Halloween... Every shop and supermarket is filled with decorations and scary masks. Most people who know me, know that I'm really, really, really, really, extremely afraid of scary things. But believe it or not, I will go to an Halloween party for Erasmus students (including appropriate Halloween costume, of course). So, maybe you won't see a blog anymore, but I hope I will enjoy this unknown party and have an interesting night... Yes please: be proud of me that I'm pushing my boundaries here, hahaha!

That's all for this time! In short: I'm enjoying my time here to the max. Next month I hope to have another 'interesting' story for you guys. Have a nice weekend! :)

Lots of love from Spain!

  • 31 Oktober 2015 - 10:01

    Sonja Reinders :

    Hai Ellen,

    Een Halloweenparty dus..... Natuurlijk willen wij een foto zien van jou in kostuum.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ellen

Hola a todos y todas! I'm Ellen, a twenty-year-old student from the Netherlands. The coming months, I'll be a student at Universitat Jaume I in Castellón de la Plana. This Erasmus program is part of my study 'International Business and Languages' at the Hanze University in Groningen. Through this blog I'll keep you posted about my stay here! Because this blog is part of a school assignment, I will also talk about useful things for incoming Erasmus students, such as housing, curriculum, living expenses, cultural differences and so on. Enjoy! :)

Actief sinds 16 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 556
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3523

Voorgaande reizen:

09 September 2015 - 29 Januari 2016

Castellón de la Plana, the place to be!

Landen bezocht: